Ergonomic Pen: UGLee Pens Review

UGLee Pens, what a fun name to describe this unusual and quite frankly ugly looking ergonomic pen. I

Hemp Hearts Review

Hemp Hearts from Manitoba Harvest are an unusual product out of Canada. They are actually the edible

Beauty Box Five Review

Beauty Box Five is a sampler program you can subscribe to and get full size samples of beauty produc

 

Ergonomic Pen: UGLee Pens Review

February 23, 2013 in Household Reviews, Reviews

UGLee Pens, what a fun name to describe this unusual and quite frankly ugly looking ergonomic pen. I must say, UGLee Pen is the most comfortable pen I’ve ever used. It comes as no surprise that the UGLee pen was actually designed by a physician. I think the secret is in the gel grip that gives the UGLee Pen its ugly features. Just as you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover, don’t judge the UGLee Pen by it’s odd appearance!

Uglee Pen

I’ve used pens and pencils with grips before, and they do not compare with the UGLee Pen’s grip. Usually, pen grips are painful on my skin after using them for awhile, as they press into my skin leaving the feeling of a developing callous. However, I’ve tested UGLee Pen by writing with it for awhile, and it does not hurt to write with it. I enjoy writing with the UGLee Pen. If you like writing but dread the pain associated with hand cramps, you need to give UGLee Pens a chance.

Writing with the Uglee Pen

You can buy UGLee Pens at the UGLee Pen website.

Disclaimer: Although I received UGLee Pens for review, I was not influenced in any way to write a positive review. As always, the opinions in my review are mine.

Hemp Hearts Review

February 23, 2013 in Healthy Reviews, Reviews

Hemp Hearts from Manitoba Harvest are an unusual product out of Canada. They are actually the edible, shelled seeds of the hemp plant. In case you’re wondering, Hemp Hearts are totally legal in the United States and no, you can’t grow them.

Hemp Hearts

My initial reaction to Hemp Hearts was, “what?” just because it’s not something you see everyday. Not sure how I should eat them, I just stuck my hand in the bag, took out a handful and began eating them. The first taste in my mouth was oil, almost like a combination of olive oil and vegetable oil. I know that Hemp oil is supposed to be healthy, so I guess that the oiliness of them is a good thing.* Others say Hemp Hearts have a nutty taste.

Hemp Hearts Texture

The Hemp Hearts were also crunchy, like a seed. Honestly, I didn’t enjoy the taste of Hemp Hearts, even though they are healthy and I like healthy food. I would eat them just for the health benefits I believe they have, though.* My fiancé enjoyed eating some with me, and it was just a different food experience. If nothing else, it’s a novelty. How many people can say they’ve eaten Hemp Hearts? Unless you’re a health nut, chances are you haven’t and I encourage you to give them a try. Who knows, you might really like them!

Other ways you can eat Hemp Hearts is by sprinkling them over yogurt and salads, blending them in a smoothie, and putting them in energy bars. I’m sure there’s a lot more you can do with Hemp Hearts.

You can order them online from Manitoba Harvest. Stay informed on Hemp Hearts by liking Manitoba Harvest on Facebook and following them on Twitter.

*I do not claim any health benefits of Hemp Hearts, and anything I said about health benefits regarding Hemp Hearts is purely my opinion.

I received Hemp Hearts for review, with no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions contained in my review are my honest opinion of Hemp Hearts.

Beauty Box Five Review

February 23, 2013 in Beauty Reviews, Monthly Subscription Boxes, Reviews

Beauty Box Five is a sampler program you can subscribe to and get full size samples of beauty products every month. I got a month of Beauty Box Five for review. Inside my beauty box were four generous samples, including:

  • Professional Curls Hair Care Curls Step #4
  • Bodyography Foundation Primer in Clear
  • Blinc Mascara in Black
  • Pedi-Scrub Foot Buffer
Beauty Box Five

The samples were nicely bundled in a mesh bag tied with a ribbon, and a card told more about each product in detail.
Beauty Box Five Product Descripton Card

I was excited to try all the samples. I had never heard of any of the beauty brands before, so it was cool to get to try out products I wouldn’t normally discover were it not for the Beauty Box Five monthly subscription program.

Beauty Box Five Samples

The first product I tried was the Pedi-Scrub foot buffer. It smells wonderful! I loved using it just because it smells so good. Also, it is not harsh on my feet like other foot buffer products tend to be. The Pedi-Scrub foot buffer was gentle on my feet and had some kind of moisturizer that lathered my feet. After the first use my feet were noticeably softer. I got more than five uses out of it, as it claims, and I feel like my feet got spa-treatment.

I also loved the Bodyography Foundation Primer in Clear. I usually use powder as opposed to foundation, so I didn’t know how well Bodyography Foundation Primer in Clear would work. However, it held my makeup in place for hours. When I don’t use a primer, it starts to melt off as soon as my naturally oily skin starts perspiring. I use this primer for special occasions when I want my makeup to stay put throughout the day. I also use it as an eyeshadow primer, and it foils the eyeshadows, making them stand out more, and  holds the eyeshadow in place all day. The only thing I didn’t like about Bodyography Foundation Primer in Clear was the smell. It has an almost greasy smell to it. That doesn’t keep me from using it though as it’s an excellent product.

The other two products, the Blinc Mascara in Black and the Professional Curls Hair Care Curls Step #4, were not products I usually use, so I gave them to family to try out. That’s the great thing about Beauty Box Five, they are so generous with how many samples you get that you’re almost guaranteed to like at least some of them, and even if you don’t like a couple you can share them with family and friends.

I really like Beauty Box Five. If you love to try new beauty products you haven’t heard of, try Beauty Box Five. By the way, you can like Beauty Box Five on Facebook to stay up-to-date on the latest beauty trends, as well as follow them on Twitter.

I received product samples courtesy of Beauty Box Five for review. I was under no obligation to write a positive review, and all opinions are my own.

Welcome to the new website!

February 23, 2013 in Website announcement

I first started Valiable Coupon Helper, now Valiable Reviews, in hopes of helping people save money through the use of coupons, as well as giving my honest opinions on products I think my readers will love. Valiable Reviews is now totally dedicated to giving my input on products that span the spectrum. I am particularly focused on food, fashion, beauty, household, and eco-friendly. However, there’s no limit to what I will review, just as long as the product is family-friendly. I’m glad you decided to check out my website, and please bookmark it because it will be updated frequently with product reviews.

Update from Valiable Coupon Helper and giveaway winners!

November 26, 2012 in Giveaway Winners, Giveaways

Hello everyone! I know it’s been awhile since I updated my blog. In the past few months I have moved, refocused on my work-at-home job (my bread and butter work), and more importantly making it a point to have down time from the computer to spend more time with my fiancé. In the process, this blog has been pushed back. I’m sure some of you are wondering why I haven’t picked winners for my giveaways, and that is why. I apologize for those of you who have anxiously awaited the announcement of winners, and felt the need to write up this post and let you know personally why there has been such a wait. So, without further ado, here are the giveaway winners:

Tropical Traditions winner – rusthawk

Bare Fruit winner- Jennifer P.

Newman’s Own Organics winner- Agnes C.

Emerson Creek Pottery winner- Jenny O.

Skoy Cloth winner- Ron M.

Madison at Main winner- Malia

Snack Taxi winner- Jaynessa P.

The winners have all been notified via email.

In addition, I have exciting news to share with everyone. Shortly, this blog will be transferred to a .com with a new name to go along with it. That new domain name is http://www.valiablereviews.com. Please bookmark it now, it is currently in maintenance mode but will be up and running soon.What this means is that entering giveaways will be much simpler, as will picking winners. I used to have to manually count the entries and entrants had to manually type each entry as a WordPress comment, and now it will all be automated via Rafflecopter. Please stay tuned for a post announcing the launch of  http://www.valiablereviews.com, and all the exciting changes I’m sure you’ll love.

We also added a new member to our  family since I last updated my blog. Meet Cricket the black tabby kitty.

Cricket the Cat

Cricket says “Don’t forget to bookmark http://www.valiablereviews.com!”

SodaStream FLASH Giveaway!

August 4, 2012 in Giveaways

Click here to enter the SodaStream Flash Giveaway!

Who wants to win a SodaStream? Coupondipity has teamed up with some super bloggers to give away a SodaStream to celebrate reaching 10,000 fans! We couldn’t have done it without you!
[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LwxP39iIdw?feature=player_embedded]

Let’s talk a little about how cool this product is! The wonderful people at SodaStream USA sent Coupondipity a SodaStream to try out, so that we could tell you all about it. And they have been kind enough to sponsor another one for a giveaway! One lucky reader will win the Fountain Jet Soda Lover’s Start-Up Kit ($99.95) which includes…

- Fountain Jet – winner’s choice of color (black/silver, red/silver or white)
- 1 carbonating bottle, reusable for up to 3 years
- Reusable carbonator to fizz up to 60L of soda
- Variety 6-pack of popular sample-size flavors
- 3 full-sized flavors of the winner’s choice
When the SodaStream arrived, I decided to wait until hubby got home to play with it. It comes with a CO2 bottle, and blowing up the house was not in my plans for the day. So I sat there looking at the box until I could take it no longer, and decided, “Okay, I’ll just open the box and glance at the instructions.” To my surprise, it was as simple as popping the carbonator bottle in and popping the water bottle in, then pressing a button. So easy!(Easier than the microwave!)

I first decided to try the Black Currant and Pear flavor. Oh my goodness! So delicious! Since that time, we have tried the cola, root beer and lemon-lime (just like Sprite!). It is so easy to use that as soon as one bottle is finished, I take about 1 minute (if that) to make another.

Did you know that there are even Crystal Light and Country Time Lemonade flavors? And that you can switch out the CO2 bottles at your local market? Or add your own flavors if you like – I’ve had friends adding juice and even flavored teas!
Would you like one of your very own? Of course you would!
All you have to do to enter is go through the Rafflecopter entry form. Complete as many or as few entries as you like – but remember, the more entries that you complete, the better your chances! This giveaway is open only in the continental USA, and will last from 12:01am August 4 to 12:01am August 5.

Click here to enter the SodaStream Flash Giveaway!

FREE Personalized Card from Cardstore!

August 2, 2012 in Freebies, Greeting Cards

FREE personalized Cardstore card!

Cardstore is infamous for giving away FREE cards! So it’s no surprise that they’re at it again. That’s right, from now until August 5th, you can snag a FREE personalized greeting card complete with FREE shipping from Cardstore in honor of Friendship Day which is Sunday, August 5th. Just go to Cardstore.com, pick your card, customize it, and enter code FRIEND12 at checkout. That’s it! You don’t have to pick a Friendship Day card, either. I chose a blank card.

Even if you don’t have a special occasion coming up that calls for a card to be given, here’s some great ideas for what you can do with a FREE card:

  • Choose a pretty blank card and frame it.
  • Get a blank Birthday card for those times you forget to get one (we’ve all experienced this kind of forgetfulness).
  • Thinking of You cards are good to have around for whenever a friend or family member needs encouragement
  • Couples cards can spice things up and lets your sweety know you love them

These are only a few ideas to get you thinking when you pick your own FREE card. Do you have any other ideas for what to do with a blank card? Let me know in a comment!

cardstore.com

Five Finger Tees Review: Strickland Propane t-shirt

July 30, 2012 in Fashion Reviews, Reviews

Five Finger Tees- Strickland Propane t-shirtMy fiancé wearing the Strickland Propane t-shirt from Five Finger Tees. He was sad King of The Hill wasn’t on yet, thus the lack of a smile. (Actually, he just didn’t want his picture taken then, but he loves his shirt! Better pic to come soon.)

I recently received a shirt of my choice for review from Five Finger Tees which was founded in 2009. Funny t-shirts and pop culture t-shirts come to mind when browsing through Five Finger Tees website. Five Finger Tees has t-shirts of all sorts, and most of their shirts incorporate humor in some way.

Being a huge King of the Hill fan, I chose the Strickland Propane t-shirt from their TV Shirts category. If you know anything about King of the Hill, then you know that Strickland Propane is where lead character Hank Hill works at. The shirt says “Strickland Propane” as well as the fictional propane company’s slogan, “Taste the meat, not the heat.” The shirt also says Arlen, Texas which is the fictional town where Hank Hill lives.

What is really cool about Five Finger Tees that sets it apart from other funny t-shirt websites is that you can choose what color you want your shirt to be, rather than there just being one color option. I chose the Royal Blue color, but there were ten other colors to choose from. Five Finger Tees t-shirts come in men’s and women’s sizes and are also available as hoodies.

My Strickland Propane t-shirt is a sturdy t-shirt, so you are definitely getting your money’s worth from Five Finger Tees. I think Five Finger Tees would make great Birthday presents, Christmas presents (they even have Holiday Shirts!) or just to purchase for yourself. Five Finger Tees has a ton of funny t-shirts, and I can bet that you’ll find a t-shirt on their website that was meant for you.

You can keep up with Five Finger Tees on Facebook, browse their funny tees on their website, and even follow Five Finger Tees on Twitter.

Disclaimer: I received a t-shirt from Five Finger Tees in order to write a review. I was not compensated for my review, and was under no obligation to write a positive review.

Snack TAXI Review and Giveaway

July 28, 2012 in Eco-friendly Reviews, Giveaways, Household Reviews, Money Saving Ideas, Reviews

snackTAXI snack sack & sandwich sacksnackTAXI snack sack (left) and sandwich sack (right)

SnackTAXI makes reusable sandwich bags, snack bags, and more. They sent me a sandwich bag for review and a snack sack to give away. Read on to learn more about snackTAXI and how you can win one of your very own.

An earth-friendly company in Massachusetts, snackTAXIs are a replacement to plastic bags for sandwiches and snacks. Think about how many plastic bags you will save when you use a snackTAXI instead. SnackTAXI actually figured out how many bags you’ll save, and it’s one thousand per snackTAXI. That’s a lot of bags saved from already packed landfills!

You may be wondering what the benefits are of reusable snackTAXIs other than being earth-friendly. Well, snackTAXIs are good for you, too. Being BPA, lead, and phthalate-free, you can use your snackTAXI knowing it won’t taint your food with harmful chemicals. SnackTAXIs are machine washable, so just throw them in with the laundry and use them again as opposed to buying plastic bags on a regular basis which is costly.

I like my snackTAXI sandwich sack and will use it for sandwiches on-the-go so as to save money on expensive and unhealthy gas station food. It’s great that I can just wash it and use it again. This will eliminate my need for sandwich bags and thus keep more money in my pocket. Besides being used as a sandwich bag, I was also thinking I could use my snackTAXI to store coupons or other things.

SnackTAXIs come in various pretty designs. The design I got was apples, which would be good for a teacher or student to carry their sandwich or a snack in. If you can’t find a design you like, snackTAXI even has a make-your-own snackTAXI kit which would be a fun activity for the kids. The snackTAXI sandwich bag is just the right size for a standard sandwich…

snackTAXI sandwich sackThe snackTAXI sandwich sack is just the right size for a sandwich

…and the snack sack is fitting for some dried fruit, veggie sticks, etc.

snackTAXI snack sackThe snackTAXI snack sack is perfect for bite-sized snacks such as dried fruit and veggie sticks.

You can win the snackTAXI above! The giveaway will run until Tuesday, August 28th. To win the snackTAXI, just enter the Rafflecopter form by clicking here or on the picture below. NOTE: When it says leave a comment, you must come back to this post and leave your comment.

Snack Taxi Giveaway

Stay in the loop on snackTAXI on their Facebook page and follow snackTAXI on Twitter.

Disclaimer: I received a snackTAXI for review and one to give away. I was not compensated for my review and was not obligated to write a positive review. The opinions contained in this review are my own personal opinions.

King Oscar Sardines Review

July 28, 2012 in Food and Drink Reviews, Healthy Reviews, Reviews

King Oscar SardinesKing Oscar Sardines I received for review

King Oscar Seafood sent me several cans of King Oscar Sardines for review. A company founded in Norway, King Oscar has expanded worldwide to countries such as the United States, Australia, and Japan, with ambitions to expand even further. King Oscar Sardines has a Facebook page where you can be in the know about the company’s happening.

I used to hate sardines and didn’t know anyone else who liked them, however when I met my fiancé who loves them I decided to give them a try. Can you believe I now not only appreciate sardines but even like them?! Yep, I like sardines, and have my fiancé to thank for that. The first time I tried sardines was on pizza, then I got bold and tried them out of a can.

When King Oscar Sardines arrived, I wasted no time trying them. My initial reaction to King Oscar Sardines was that they must be a top-of-the-line sardine brand, because the packaging is so fancy: a red and gold label with a stately looking man on the can who I presume is King Oscar himself.

The can was easy to open with a pull tab, not one of those annoying use a can opener type deals. Once my can was open, I dug in, taking a sardine out of the can and biting into it. King Oscar Sardines taste good to me, they have almost the same yet a richer taste than other sardines I’ve tried. They are also bigger than other canned sardines I’ve eaten and there seems to be more meat to them. I don’t know if this has to do with the type of sardines King Oscar uses, however I know that just a few of these sardines would suffice as a snack or compliment a pizza, etc.

The King Oscar Sardines I received are packed in extra virgin olive oil. This is the only thing I don’t like about these sardines because I just think the oil spoils the taste of the seafood. I always buy water-packed seafood when I buy canned seafood. On the other hand, if you don’t like the taste of seafood but you do like the health benefits, you might like the fact that King Oscar Sardines are packed in extra virgin olive oil.

I gave King Oscar sardines a try as someone who only recently learned to like sardines, and I like them. I would love to try incorporating them into a recipe, so if you know of any recipes that call for sardines please let me know in a comment.

Disclamer: I received King Oscar sardines for review. I was not compensated for my review, nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are my own honest opinions.